Skip to main content

Major Stars Pay Tribute to Icon James Horner in Brand-New Album — Pre-Order Now


~ Major stars pay tribute to much-loved film composer, James Horner

~ Featured artists include The Piano Guys, 2Cellos, Lindsey Stirling, Alexis Ffrench, Tina Guo and many more

~ Stunning new arrangements of movie classics

Release Date: 10th August 2018
Pre-Order Date: June 29 2018

Sony Classical is delighted to announce a brand-new album that pays tribute to one of the world’s great musical talents, iconic film composer, James Horner (1953-2015), who would have celebrated his 65th birthday in August this year.

Performed by stellar musicians of the day, the album highlights Horner’s unique legacy by showcasing some of his greatest ever movie themes, including ‘Titanic’, ‘Avatar’, ‘Troy’ and ‘Braveheart’, to name but a few.

This vivid collection of back-to-back blockbuster hits brings together Horner’s unmistakeable movie themes, re-imagined in arrangements especially written for some of our top musicians including internet sensations, The Piano Guys; cello wizards, 2CELLOS and Tina Guo; outstanding guitarist, Craig Ogden; Classic BRIT Award-winning saxophonist, Amy Dickson together with leading harpist, Lavinia Meijer; acclaimed violinist, Lindsey Stirling and exceptional piano discovery, Alexis Ffrench.

This eagerly-anticipated album pays fitting tribute to the much-missed composer by spotlighting Horner’s musical versatility and absolute mastery of the genre and presenting an array of key themes from his magnificent scores.

Sarah Thwaites, Head of Sony Masterworks UK noted: “The music of James Horner has not only provided the soundtrack to some of the world’s most-loved films, but also holds a very special place in people’s lives. With ‘James Horner – The Classics’, we simply wanted to create a collection independent of story lines and characters that allows the listener to enjoy major masterpieces by one of movie history’s finest composers”.

Pre-Order HERE.

Major Stars Pay Tribute to Icon James Horner in Brand-New Album — Pre-Order Now


  1. My Heart Will Go On (From ‘Titanic’): 2CELLOS
  2. Jake’s First Flight (From ‘Avatar’): The Piano Guys
  3. Main Title (From ‘Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan’)
  4. Briseis and Achilles (From ‘Troy’): Lindsey Stirling
  5. Somewhere Out There (From ‘An American Tail’): Amy Dickson & Lavinia Meijer
  6. Willow’s Theme (From ‘Willow’): Amy Dickson
  7. Rooftop Kiss (From ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’): Lavinia Meijer
  8. For the Love of a Princess (From ‘Braveheart’): 2CELLOS
  9. Theme from Cocoon (From ‘Cocoon’): Tina Guo
  10. Boys Playing Airplanes (From ‘The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas’):

Alexis Ffrench

  1. Field of Dreams (From ‘Field of Dreams’): Craig Ogden
  2. Main Title (From ‘Apollo 13’)
  3. I See You (From ‘Avatar’): Tina Guo
  4. The Ludlows (From ‘Legends Of The Fall’): Lindsey Stirling

James Horner – The Classics

CD Cat. No.: 19075857722

Vinyl Cat. No.: 19075857721

Formats: CD, Vinyl and Digital

Release Date: 10th August 2018

Price Point: Full

Label: Sony Classical